Current affairs

PPFF #143: Dylan

Good morning,

For the last two day I kept thinking and writing about something that turned out to be factually worthless. Thank god, a good friend of mine tipped me off last night that Bob Dylan won the Nobel prize for literature. At first I thought he was joking; it wasn’t the first time he was nominated. I was rather happy when I heard the news, I told the group of strangers I was drinking with “Dylan won the Nobel prize for literature. All drinks are on me”. Again, thank god, they didn’t take me seriously; I didn’t actually buy any of the drinks I promised. I know literature snobs say he’s not really a poet (screw them) and music elitists say he can’t sing (screw them too) but I think he juggles both beautifully. In any case, in honour of this great news and the poet laureate, as tacky as it is, I feel compelled to do a few quotes.

Interviewer: “Mr Dylan, what are your songs about?”

Dylan: “Some are about five minutes, some are about six minutes, and some, believe it or not, are about eleven minutes.”

“People seldom do what they believe in. They do what is convenient, then repent.”

“I wish that for just one time
You could stand inside my shoes
And just for that one moment
I could be you
Yes, I wish that for just one time
You could stand inside my shoes
You’d know what a drag it is
To see you”

“All this talk about equality. The only thing people really have in common is that they are all going to die.”

If you want more, here’s a pretty decent summary of Dylan and his words.

Have a good Friday.

 

