Uncategorized

PPFF #128

Good morning,

It’s already been a week since Brexit (referendum) happened. Wherever you are in the world, I’m pretty sure you’re all aware now of the fresh perspectives it provided, the wonders it did  and the opportunities it created for both Britain and Europe. What a fascinating roller-coaster ride that was. I won’t go on though – there is such a thing as ‘too much of a good thing’. All these and more have already been said with much more breadth and depth, I believe. Besides it’s all anyone has been talking about every day since last Friday. Well, that and football.

Since then I heard that there’s been a surge of google searches for emigration from UK to Canada, the land of the royal subjects and the home of the meek. I thought it was a bit of an over-reaction to last Friday’s event – so I started investigating what the hype was all about, surrounding the promised land. In the process, (apologies to folks who were expecting some sort of fact this morning) I learnt the following:

  • Prospective economic immigrants to Canada must provide evidence of their proficiency in the English language in the form of one of the tests as designated by the Canadian government even if one’s first language is English (what? why?)
  • Winnie the Pooh is Canadian (apparently there’s a meme)

Of course, I have no intention of moving to Canada (yet); so it was really the second ‘fact’ that caught my attention. To elaborate a little, A. A. Milne, the creator of the Winnie-the-Pooh character, named him after Winnie, a ‘Canadian’ black bear (actually from the American black bear species) caged in the London zoo at the time, first named as such because it/he was captured/sold by a Canadian man from Winnipeg, Manitoba.

To those of you who are thinking now, ‘What a rubbish ‘fact’. I knew this already. Thoroughly uninteresting, Keat! (not my real name). Come on!’, I apologise first. But in my defence, this is because I tried to avoid talking about the only thing I heard/read about this week. Sorry!

Have a Friday.

 

