Uncategorized

ppff #125

 

Good morning,

Did I wonder this week where the question mark originated from? Did I google it?

Did I find out the answer to that question and was that answer convincing?

It turns out quite a number of people wondered about this and there are more than a few articles and blog posts out there which explain far more elaborately than I care to – so I’ll keep it brief. I learnt that Alcuin of York, born in the 8th century is generally credited with inventing this punctuation gem. It differed from our modern day question mark, however, and it looked more like a “lightning flash, striking from right to left” before it evolved to become the more verticalised symbol that we know today. See examples below.

punctus-interrogativus

2014-10-22-interrogativus

By the way I pretty much ripped off this Huffington Post article. I merely wanted to point you all to the original article here.

Have a good Friday

